Hingham High School Band Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Meeting My Goals

Go down

Meeting My Goals  Empty Meeting My Goals

Post  jhandy1414 Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:54 pm

This year in band I hope to become a better musician in general. I hope to challenge myself with more difficult music and learn new and more sophisticated techniques to improve my overall skill in my instrument. I also hope to prove that I am a good enough an musician to move up in my stand number. I need to practice more with my instrument to achieve these goals. I want to make the rehearsals of useful ans efficient as possible. To do this I will try to take my instrument and practice it as regularly as possible. I would like to improve my ability to hear the intonation of my instrument and tune it without the aid of an electric tuner. I would also like to learn improve upon my counting ability, which would help improve my site-reading skill and overall playing ability. Something else I would like to improve on is my tonguing speed. If I were to improve upon my tonguing speed then it would be applicable to every part of my musical life and make playing my instrument much easier. I would like to work closer with my section. I would like to learn the techniques that the first chair players use and have learned throughout their numerous years of experience. If in June I can play any of the pieces we are performing in our final concert i will feel as though my year in band was a success. My band year will also be a success if I can play a well as the fist chair players by the end if the year. If I can accomplish these tasks I will feel that my year in band was a learning experience and was important to my development in music.